Non-financial: 2004 articles archive home
Resolutions
The custom of making new year’s resolutions has been observed since ancient Babylonian times - when most of the resolutions concerned the returning of borrowed gardening tools.
Friday, December 31, 2004 ... more
 
 
Staying on top.
In a special report that looks at the technologies and new ideas that are changing the world, Business Week magazine questions whether America will remain the innovation leader
Thursday, December 30, 2004 ... more
 
Coincidence, or something else?
Martin Plimmer and Martin King in their book Beyond Coincidence provide some amazing stories. For instance, there’s the one about the two sisters in Alabama ...
Wednesday, December 29, 2004 ... more
 
 
Uplifting
The latest palm device is a telephone, alarm clock, calculator, scheduler, text messenger, and camera. It's also an e-mail client that gives us access to ...
Tuesday, December 28, 2004 ... more
 
A little known Xmas fact
Santa was getting ready for his annual trip...but there were problems everywhere. Fourteen of his elves had been sick, and the part-time elves that he’d hired hadn’t
Friday, December 24, 2004 ... more
 
 
Why you did it
... we shouldn’t be surprised, says Gladwell, this is the way social epidemics work; Ideas can be contagious in exactly the same way that a virus is.
Friday, December 10, 2004 ... more
 
The poor things ...
So, if someone’s badgering you about your smoking, you’ve now got scientific proof … that it’s not your fault you’re so weak-willed.
Thursday, December 9, 2004 ... more
 
 
Yet another deceit
Have you been duped lately? Feel bad about it? Don’t worry, we’ve all been hoodwinked about all sorts of things from the time we started going to kindergarten
Friday, December 3, 2004 ... more
 
The cost of complexity
... with 70 to 80% of IT spending now going on fixing things rather than buying new systems – “which suggests that this year alone IT complexity will cost firms worldwide some US$750 billion.
Wednesday, December 1, 2004 ... more
 
 
What, no old natives?
In an interview with the Economist, Pip Coburn, a technology analyst at UBS (the U.S. investment bank) claimed that some 70% Of the world's population are still "analogues" ...
Tuesday, November 30, 2004 ... more
 
True empowerment
In 1805, the 13-year-old Michael Faraday began an apprenticeship as a bookbinder. His employer encouraged the uneducated boy to read the books he was binding. He boned up on science, and one day
Monday, November 29, 2004 ... more
 
 
Computers, like cars
In a recent IT survey The Economist magazine tried to predict the future of IT by looking at the evolution of previous technologies that have needed simplifying.
Friday, November 26, 2004 ... more
 
The eyes have it Monday, November 22, 2004
After the battle Friday, November 19, 2004
Inhumane technology Wednesday, November 17, 2004
Happiness? Friday, November 12, 2004
A tall tale Wednesday, November 10, 2004
You’ll probably agree Monday, November 8, 2004
Lost in space Friday, November 5, 2004
You want to, too? Friday, October 29, 2004
Say what? Friday, October 22, 2004
The most boring lecturer in England Wednesday, August 25, 2004
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.