Investing & trading: July - September 2008 articles archive home
10 things to do in the market when you're dead
Seven years ago, Edmond Warner, former star strategist at Dresdner Kleinwort, offered some advice on what to do in a bear market.
Thursday, September 25, 2008 ... more
 
 
Mistakes, because
Here are a few common mistakes with the usual reasons for committing them: 1) You become wedded to either ...
Thursday, September 18, 2008 ... more
 
Will you earn market returns? Don't count on it!
... the extent to which American investors, tend to grossly overestimate the returns equity investing can provide.
Wednesday, September 17, 2008 ... more
 
 
A problem of overconfidence
One stone age behaviour that leads to investment mistakes is overconfidence . The average investor is markedly overconfident.
Tuesday, September 16, 2008 ... more
 
So as to get a second marshmallow
Consider using option strategies. Options have a lot of plus points, and have a part to play in your strategy.
Tuesday, September 9, 2008 ... more
 
 
There’s more to it than just the money
Here is something that you should know about capital: It is both financial and psychological in nature.
Wednesday, August 27, 2008 ... more
 
Respect the markets, not the experts
Richard Farleigh says he likes to think of the market as an opponent,to outwit and defeat.
Wednesday, August 13, 2008 ... more
 
 
Investment advice from a chess grandmaster
What is the strategy for a small combatant to fight a larger more powerful, better equipped opponent?
Thursday, August 7, 2008 ... more
 
Tunnels in the mind
It seems that all of us employ some genuine and easy (as well as fallacious) shortcuts in our minds – often unknowingly.
Wednesday, August 6, 2008 ... more
 
 
Learning to ride the elephant
John Haidt in his book, The Happiness Hypothesis, likens the human mind to a rider on an elephant.
Tuesday, August 5, 2008 ... more
 
That massive magnetic pull towards disaster
Cognitive dissonance - an uncomfortable feeling or stress caused by holding two contradictory ideas simultaneously.
Thursday, July 31, 2008 ... more
 
 
Don’t just do something-sit there
For most traders it is the thrill of the game, and the rush that comes from the anticipation of reward
Wednesday, July 30, 2008 ... more
 
Bracing for loss: An exception to the optimistic rule. Wednesday, July 23, 2008
In the bad times collect clues for the good times. Tuesday, July 22, 2008
Lessons from Sir John Templeton Tuesday, July 15, 2008
The market: something to be afraid of. Tuesday, July 8, 2008
Some advice from Peter Lynch Thursday, July 3, 2008
Is your personality getting in the way? Wednesday, July 2, 2008
How much can you really afford to lose? Tuesday, July 1, 2008
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.