Investing & trading: April - June 2007 articles archive home
Lessons from Anthony Bolton
Anthony Bolton, one of Britain’s most celebrated fund managers, announced recently that he was moving ‘upstairs’ at Fidelity
Wednesday, June 20, 2007 ... more
 
 
Your own worst enemy
Losing sleep over market highs? Convinced it means we’re in for a major correction? Worried it might come sooner rather than later?
Monday, June 4, 2007 ... more
 
The value of forecasts
I knew I could not predict anything, and that is why we decided to follow trends, and that is why we’ve been so successful.
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 ... more
 
 
Just the opposite
The biggest public fallacy is that the market is always right. The market is nearly always wrong. I can assure you of that. - James B Rogers, Jr.
Monday, May 28, 2007 ... more
 
Things to keep top of mind
A reminder of some of the self-destructs in trading:
Fear: whether its fear of loss or fearful for profits.
Hope: hope ...
Wednesday, May 23, 2007 ... more
 
 
Risk: The Basics
Smart investing includes risk management. Every time you buy shares you face three different types of risk: business risk, valuation risk, and need-to-sell risk.
Thursday, May 10, 2007 ... more
 
Busted: five stock market myths
There are five common myths about investing in the stock market that need to be dispelled, starting with: Investing is just like gambling.
Monday, May 7, 2007 ... more
 
 
Stop loss – finding the right one
While most traders understand that it is important to apply stop-losses to all their positions, they often don’t know where to set them.
Thursday, April 26, 2007 ... more
 
When you shouldn’t be investing
Investing in stocks is not that difficult, it’s not as if there’s a licensing process or anything. In fact, there is not even a formal course.
Tuesday, April 24, 2007 ... more
 
 
Value of four words
Bill Barker, writing at Fool.com, says he’s been thinking about the quality of investment advice that consists of only four words, including ...
Monday, April 23, 2007 ... more
 
Panic!
You take some money out of your pocket and buy a few shares. You think they’re worth at least as much as the cash you held ...
Thursday, April 19, 2007 ... more
 
 
Bandwagons and bubbles
The following extracts are taken from a conversation that takes place between two characters in the novel Wilderness of Mirror ...
Wednesday, April 18, 2007 ... more
 
You may or may not agree Monday, April 16, 2007
It’s essential to have a reasonable goal Wednesday, April 4, 2007
When to sell a winner Tuesday, April 3, 2007
Making decisions in the face of uncertainty Monday, April 2, 2007
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.