Investing & trading: January - June 2005 articles archive home
An insider’s perspective
In July 18 1998, American entrepreneur Mark Cuban and his partner, Todd Wagner, took their company, Broadcast.com, public with Morgan Stanley. It listed at $18 a share and closed at $62.75.
Wednesday, June 22, 2005 ... more
 
 
O’Neil on stop-losses
A good money manager never assumes that a stock is at a bottom, and will typically build a position as the stock falls down in price, but it probably isn’t a smart strategy for most amateur investors ...
Monday, June 20, 2005 ... more
 
 
In the beginning
Despite their current bravura image, most hedge funds are rather tame; indeed that is their true appeal. The term “hedge fund” is a colloquialism derived from the expression “to hedge one’s bets” ...
Monday, June 13, 2005 ... more
 
The next big thing
Of course I’d love to get into the next big thing. Who wouldn’t? Get a hold of hundreds of thousands of shares in the next Berkshire Hathaway or Microsoft for next-to-nothing ...
Monday, June 6, 2005 ... more
 
 
What alternative?
The game seems terribly easy and we play along carelessly; we don’t really know the odds since that would “depend on our witnessing the barrel of reality – of which we generally know nothing.
Monday, May 30, 2005 ... more
 
Why you might never know the real cause
We propose that the true origin of a bubble and of its collapse lies in the unsustainable pace of stock market price growth.
Saturday, May 28, 2005 ... more
 
 
Learn to take punches
If you're a beginning trader, trade with an amount of money that is small enough that you can afford to lose, but ... The strong Rand, the strong Rand ...
Tuesday, May 24, 2005 ... more
 
The more it changes
Wile it will never be my main occupation, I believe that by occasionally buying stocks when they are under-priced and selling them when they are over-priced ...
Monday, May 23, 2005 ... more
 
 
Why so willing?
“There is one indicator that professionals use that is simple.” Smith wrote in The Money Game. “That is to find out what the average investor, or the little investor is doing. Then you do just the opposite.
Monday, May 16, 2005 ... more
 
Nazy Massoud: The 10 major mistakes that traders make.
Some time ago Nazy Massoud, a Wall Street trader, provided Yahoo!Finance with a list of the 10 major mistakes he believes traders make.
Thursday, May 12, 2005 ... more
 
 
Straight talk
At a time when so many annual reports read as if they were written for the home-shopping channel, Warren Buffett’s candid approach in his annual letter to Berkshire Hathaway shareholders is like a breath of fresh air.
Wednesday, May 11, 2005 ... more
 
Sage uttering
Investors should remember that excitement and expenses are their enemies. And ... should try to be fearful when others are greedy and greedy only when others are fearful.”
Monday, May 9, 2005 ... more
 
 
Me too, please
Why then, in the face of such admittedly high odds, are so many people willing to pay others the large sums that they do, to predict stock prices for them?
Friday, May 6, 2005 ... more
 
Bad Moon Rising Tuesday, May 3, 2005
What we ought to have done Tuesday, April 26, 2005
Bubble, short and double Monday, April 18, 2005
A special thing Monday, April 11, 2005
Never jam today Friday, April 8, 2005
Careful what you believe Tuesday, March 29, 2005
Truthful answers Friday, March 18, 2005
Bernstein on Dividends Thursday, March 17, 2005
The Nifty-Fifty Monday, March 14, 2005
Bernstein’s advise Thursday, March 10, 2005
More from Buffett Wednesday, March 9, 2005
Yesterday don’t matter Monday, March 7, 2005
Risky and uncertain Thursday, March 3, 2005
Worth noting? Tuesday, February 15, 2005
Cart before the horse Monday, February 14, 2005
Without doubt Thursday, February 10, 2005
Trouble with stats Thursday, February 3, 2005
The anchor effect. Wednesday, February 2, 2005
Nice lawn Monday, January 31, 2005
What information overload? Tuesday, January 25, 2005
Trouble with chartists Monday, January 24, 2005
Representative bias Wednesday, January 19, 2005
A swan, not a monkey Monday, January 17, 2005
For the greater good? Wednesday, January 12, 2005
Waiting for a syzygy Monday, January 10, 2005
Be smart - limit your losses Tuesday, January 4, 2005
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.