Investing & trading: 2004 articles archive home
Thanks Santa
December has earned a reputation for being a good time for stocks, a seasonally strong period when investors are full of holiday cheer and feeling flush thanks to year-end bonuses.
Friday, December 17, 2004 ... more
 
 
Six signs
Tom Gardner, who with brother David launched Fool.com and published several best-selling books, says investors searching for small-cap stocks look for six things:
Monday, December 13, 2004 ... more
 
Red dresses
In his book How To Make Money in Stocks, William J O’ Neil argues that the stock market is really no different from any other business, and should be operated just like a business.
Monday, December 6, 2004 ... more
 
 
A Ponzi Scheme?
As long as management is presumed to be acting in the best interests of the stockholders, the division of the earnings stream between cash dividends and retained earnings in any period is a mere detail ...
Friday, November 19, 2004 ... more
 
Dividends, not earnings
What’s more, William's dividend discount model is now interpreted to mean estimating a company’s future earnings or cash flow, and discounting them against interest rates ...
Thursday, November 18, 2004 ... more
 
 
Why Buffett doesn’t like mining or farming
Eventually the consumers have gotten the metal and the company is left with a hole ... You may show a profit, pay taxes and end up with receivables you have trouble collecting.
Tuesday, November 16, 2004 ... more
 
Setting limits
Loss limits are a familiar concept ... Win limits are the opposite of loss limits, though not as intuitive. Loss limits are easy to determine, how much can you afford to lose?
Monday, November 15, 2004 ... more
 
 
Not just the charts
In his classic book, A Random Walk Down Wall Street, Burton Malkiel, the Princeton economist, disputes the value of technical analysis - to determine where the price of a stock will go ...
Monday, October 18, 2004 ... more
 
Worth remembering
Don't talk about the market if you don’t want to attract too much idle gossip. Some professionals give their lives to the market and die poor. There is such a thing as luck, but ...
Friday, October 15, 2004 ... more
 
 
Different stripes
Zebras have the same problem as institutional portfolio managers. First, both seek profits. For portfolio managers, above average performance; for zebras, fresh grass.
Monday, October 4, 2004 ... more
 
Long time investors
Joseph Treaster attended the Berkshire Hathaway shareholders meeting earlier this year to find out what kind of people attend. Here are extracts from his findings ...
Thursday, September 30, 2004 ... more
 
 
Sleight of hand
“Banking was conceived in iniquity and born in sin. ... Bankers own the earth. Take it away from them but leave them the power to create money, and, with a flick of a pen ...
Monday, September 27, 2004 ... more
 
Polishing veneer Monday, September 27, 2004
Overestimated skills Monday, September 20, 2004
Nothing's changed Monday, September 13, 2004
Self-reliance Monday, September 6, 2004
Other side of deflation Friday, September 3, 2004
Bedrock of investing Monday, August 30, 2004
Some don’ts of stock-picking: Wednesday, August 25, 2004
A bad idea Tuesday, August 3, 2004
The art of knowing you’re wrong Wednesday, February 11, 2004
What's a bear Market? Monday, February 9, 2004
What makes a great investor? Monday, February 2, 2004
Listen to the poker players Tuesday, January 27, 2004
Pretending it is doesn’t make it so Monday, January 26, 2004
Management that’s not entirely honest Friday, January 23, 2004
Just because it's easy ... Monday, January 19, 2004
Robert Wilson: Without a rope Thursday, January 15, 2004
If only Bill Gates was a classmate Wednesday, January 14, 2004
It’s really hard not to be average Monday, January 12, 2004
Mr. Womack, the farmer Wednesday, January 7, 2004
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.