July - September 2013 articles archive home
 
 
Extraordinary returns
Don’t catch a falling knife is a well-known maxim in the stock market. It’s good advice too. Many an investor that’s rushed in to buy into a company whose share price is tumbling has regretted the decision.
Monday, September 30, 2013 ... more
 
Vanity …
… is a motive of immense potency. Anyone who has much to do with children knows how they are constantly performing and saying "Look at me". Look at me is one of the most fundamental desires of the human heart.
Friday, September 27, 2013 ... more
 
 
Studies …
… of investor behaviour tell us some surprising things about the decisions they make … 85% of sell or exchange decisions are wrong - the investor would do better by doing nothing or going the other way that 85% of the time.
Thursday, September 26, 2013 ... more
 
 
 
Hours …
… after Pearl Harbour was attacked in 1941, the U.S. military planted mines in San Francisco bay. Trenches were dug along the West Coast. The idea that Japan would follow up with an even greater attack on the mainland wasn't if but when.
Wednesday, September 25, 2013 ... more
 
 
 
Deloitte's 2013 CFO survey
According to the 2013 Deloitte CFO Survey, in an environment of uncertainty with confidence levels declining, Southern African CFOs are tapering off their growth plans and edging towards a more cautious stance.
Monday, September 23, 2013 ... more
 
 
 
Naturally…
…when a young fellow steps up into a big position, it breeds jealousy among those whom he's left behind and uneasiness among those to whom he's pulled himself up.
Friday, September 20, 2013 ... more
 
Last week …
… The Motley Fool’s Morgan Housel published 43 thoughts about investing and the economy. Here are some of them:
Thursday, September 19, 2013 ... more
 
 
The small man
Speculators often have nobody to blame but themselves when they come to grief.
Wednesday, September 18, 2013 ... more
 
A barrier
In days of old, a castle was protected by the moat that circled it,” says Buffett. “The wider the moat, the more easily a castle could be defended, as a wide moat made it very difficult for enemies to approach. A narrow moat did not offer much protection.
Tuesday, September 17, 2013 ... more
 
 
Worth every cent, and not
“Our results for the year ended June 2013 are my last set as CEO of FNB,” said Michael Jordaan at a small media gathering last Wednesday, “and I am very proud that we, once again, managed to grow profit 20% and that the return on equity was a very high 36%.”
Monday, September 16, 2013 ... more
 
The machines ... Friday, September 13, 2013
From Forbes’ 2013 investment guide… Thursday, September 12, 2013
And the markets? Wednesday, September 11, 2013
As Kahneman says Tuesday, September 10, 2013
Gambit of emotions Monday, September 9, 2013
Egocentric e-mails Friday, September 6, 2013
3 reasons … Thursday, September 5, 2013
Thune’s list Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Again and again Tuesday, September 3, 2013
Only sensible way Monday, September 2, 2013
Ideas Friday, August 30, 2013
September’s odds Thursday, August 29, 2013
Here's the spectrum … Wednesday, August 28, 2013
Are you a gimp? Tuesday, August 27, 2013
How useful? Monday, August 26, 2013
In seventh grade … Friday, August 23, 2013
Overoptimistic & overconfident Thursday, August 22, 2013
It's not our daily latte … Wednesday, August 21, 2013
Ray Dalio … Tuesday, August 20, 2013
Market delusions Monday, August 19, 2013
You'll meet … Friday, August 16, 2013
Unpredictable Thursday, August 15, 2013
Fluctuations Wednesday, August 14, 2013
3 observations … Tuesday, August 13, 2013
Rough article Monday, August 12, 2013
Wrong Thursday, August 8, 2013
Wallstreeters Wednesday, August 7, 2013
Seth Klarman ... Tuesday, August 6, 2013
Good reasons ... Monday, August 5, 2013
In the dark Friday, August 2, 2013
Margin of safety Thursday, August 1, 2013
The nifty-fifties Wednesday, July 31, 2013
Warnings … Tuesday, July 30, 2013
Talking commodities ... Monday, July 29, 2013
Conflicting needs Friday, July 26, 2013
Probably … Thursday, July 25, 2013
Peeks Wednesday, July 24, 2013
Quotes … Tuesday, July 23, 2013
A review of NPWS's 2013 stock picks Monday, July 22, 2013
Hot air Friday, July 19, 2013
Side-effect Thursday, July 18, 2013
Proof Wednesday, July 17, 2013
Missed the rally? Tuesday, July 16, 2013
The problem with saving Monday, July 15, 2013
Successful leaders ... Friday, July 12, 2013
Recovery advocates … Thursday, July 11, 2013
The stock market and the economy … Wednesday, July 10, 2013
Ignore the noise Tuesday, July 9, 2013
Market trends Monday, July 8, 2013
Exotic facts Friday, July 5, 2013
Problem with what works Thursday, July 4, 2013
Analyst vs Strategist Wednesday, July 3, 2013
You should try Tuesday, July 2, 2013
So where is it heading, all this technology? Monday, July 1, 2013
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.