April - June 2013 articles archive home
 
7 things …
… that can make us smarter:

Emotions. We sometimes give short shrift to emotions, but our emotional state represents a crucial internal situation that influences how intelligently we think and act.
Friday, June 28, 2013 ... more
 
Media rules
Don’t always trust the newspaper. Not only do they sometimes misquote, they make stuff up. You want someone who lives that beat all day long, not someone who does a bit of research to put a story together.
Thursday, June 27, 2013 ... more
 
 
When less is more
This is a very simple concept ... And yet in investment management, practically nobody operates that way. A huge majority of people have some other crazy construct in their heads.
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 ... more
 
 
10 …
… of the most common investment mistakes:

Letting media influence decisions. Press releases are flakes of snow that rain down on investors and melt away.
Tuesday, June 25, 2013 ... more
 
 
What to do in a tapering world?
Confirmation, last week, that the Federal Reserve would start to taper its asset purchases under QE3 later this year had a similar effect on equity markets as a call from room service at the Lost Palace that the hotel might be running out of Champagne.
Monday, June 24, 2013 ... more
 
 
To succeed …
… first and foremost, you’ve got to love what you do. Because that may be all that you get, the work experience. If your happiness depends upon becoming a household name, you’re gonna waste a lot of time in the trenches being frustrated.
Friday, June 21, 2013 ... more
 
 
Explanations
Instead of reading explanations of what the market is doing, pay attention to what the market is doing in a historical context. The next time stocks have a down day, remember that they do that, on average, every other day.
Thursday, June 20, 2013 ... more
 
Some advice
Matt Schifrin at Forbes asked 20 of the most successful people in the world of money and investing for their best advice in the field.
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 ... more
 
 
A real problem or hot air?
The Hindenburg Omen: A Real Problem for Stocks or Just Hot Air? That’s the question Dan Kadlec tried to answer in the Business & Money section of Time last week.
Tuesday, June 18, 2013 ... more
 
 
Learning from conflict
The psychological study of misconceptions shows that all of us possess many beliefs that are flawed or flat-out wrong — and that we cling to these fallacies with remarkable tenacity. As a result, more often than not, just hearing the correct explanation isn’t enough.
Friday, June 14, 2013 ... more
 
Not fit for purpose
When the nightly news focuses on that day's movement in the Dow Jones Industrial Average or the financial supplements idolise the latest mutual-fund manager to shine, it is easy to forget what the main economic functions of the equity markets are supposed to be.
Thursday, June 13, 2013 ... more
 
 
Gender inequality
A study by the University of Exeter Business School analysed over 80,000 trades made by directors of companies listed on the London and AIM stock exchanges and found an interesting dichotomy when looking at trades made by male and female directors.
Wednesday, June 12, 2013 ... more
 
 
Mistakes: Learning from
It was, I guess, a rude awakening for me when I realized, many years ago, that most of the talking heads I saw on TV had no idea what the hell they were talking about. The sooner one learns that lesson, the better. So, take it from me: Figure out who’s on their game and who isn’t; who’s got an agenda and who doesn’t.
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 ... more
 
Excess credit creation …
… of the last few decades "drew forward" years of aggregate demand, and this is exactly why both - credit creation and aggregate demand expansion - will be so hard to come by as the current cycle plays out. It's now payback time. It's now balance sheet reconciliation time.
Monday, June 10, 2013 ... more
 
 
End of poverty
In his inaugural address in 1949 Harry Truman said that “more than half the people in the world are living in conditions approaching misery. For the first time in history, humanity possesses the knowledge and skill to relieve the suffering of those people.”
Friday, June 7, 2013 ... more
 
 
Trust in reason
When applied to the physical world, scientific techniques have been successfully used to determine cause and effect, helping us to predict and control our environment. This success has encouraged the idea that scientific techniques can be productively applied to all human endeavours, including investing.
Thursday, June 6, 2013 ... more
 
 
Problem with debt
We're ignoring some enormous structural problems in the developed-world economies when looking at GDP, says Robert Arnott, CEO of Research Affiliates. We have an addiction to debt finance consumption [and] it's hugely destructive.
Wednesday, June 5, 2013 ... more
 
Luck
There's a quick and easy way to test whether an activity involves skill; ask whether you can lose on purpose. In games of skill, it's clear that you can lose intentionally but when playing roulette or the lottery you can't lose on purpose ...
Tuesday, June 4, 2013 ... more
 
 
Easily Swayed
A study published in The Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication shows that while online comments might significantly distort what readers think, it’s not just the content of the comments that matter, but the tone.
Monday, June 3, 2013 ... more
 
Unsafe
Distractions inside our vehicles abound. For many professionals, their car is their office. For younger drivers, it continues to serve as a social hub. But now vehicles are not just a mobile party.
Friday, May 31, 2013 ... more
 
 
Bonuses
We tend to take at face value the idea that large bonuses are the chief motivation for business leaders. But Ian Rhymers from the psychology department of City University offers another perspective.
Thursday, May 30, 2013 ... more
 
Cockroaches get bad press. Wednesday, May 29, 2013
Morgan Housel … Tuesday, May 28, 2013
The economy and value investing Monday, May 27, 2013
Dumb things Friday, May 24, 2013
Ever wonder … Thursday, May 23, 2013
No rationale Wednesday, May 22, 2013
Still relevant? Tuesday, May 21, 2013
Bigger brain Friday, May 17, 2013
Bullish sentiment Thursday, May 16, 2013
Dow 116,200 Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Advice & truisms Tuesday, May 14, 2013
Character, not grades Friday, May 10, 2013
Advice on conference calls … Thursday, May 9, 2013
Investing with the amygdala Wednesday, May 8, 2013
Can’t buy low, sell high Tuesday, May 7, 2013
Entrepreneurship... Friday, May 3, 2013
A regional strategy. Thursday, May 2, 2013
Lines of defense Tuesday, April 30, 2013
Introverts Friday, April 26, 2013
Buy-backs Thursday, April 25, 2013
Just how gullible? Wednesday, April 24, 2013
Zimmerman’s advice Tuesday, April 23, 2013
Prospects for gold and platinum Monday, April 22, 2013
As children … Friday, April 19, 2013
How often … Thursday, April 18, 2013
What crisis? Wednesday, April 17, 2013
Temperament Tuesday, April 16, 2013
A dangerous feeling Friday, April 12, 2013
Crisis Thursday, April 11, 2013
In bad times Wednesday, April 10, 2013
5 lessons from ... Tuesday, April 9, 2013
School Friday, April 5, 2013
Trust Thursday, April 4, 2013
Old-fashion way Wednesday, April 3, 2013
Sell at market highs, or low? Tuesday, April 2, 2013
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.