January - March 2011 articles archive home
 
 
The market is always right
If you want to know everything about the market, go to the beach. Push and pull your hands with the waves. Some are bigger waves, some are smaller. But if you try to push the wave out when it's coming in, it'll never happen. The market is always right. - Ed Seykota
Thursday, March 31, 2011 ... more
 
 
 
IMing helps traders
As ever-changing news on the housing market, the Federal Reserve, job figures, bankruptcies, and other global data pours in, traders need to quickly figure out which information applies to their stocks and what should be done about it. No one person could successfully sift through the flood alone, so traders try to figure out the meaning by IMing bits and pieces of information with their IM network of contacts.”
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 ... more
 
 
 
For no other reason
Yet professionals can, and, of course, do make mistakes. When they buy a stock and it doesn’t go up, even if it doesn’t go down, that’s wrong enough for them, simply because it did not perform as expected. The professional reasons that the stock went against his judgement, so he sells it. And … knowing that losses are inevitable, he seeks to minimize them at all times.
Tuesday, March 29, 2011 ... more
 
 
 
The value of failing
Ultimately, we all have to decide for ourselves what constitutes failure, but the world is quite eager to give you a set of criteria if you let it. So I think it fair to say that by any conventional measure, a mere seven years after my graduation day, I had failed on an epic scale.
Friday, March 25, 2011 ... more
 
 
 
Learning is earning
there is good reason to welcome a new initiative in the field of financial education; A new online portal, JustOneLap.com, launched last night from the JSE. The portal, the brainchild of Simon Brown, promises to offer something fresh and unique to the financial minded South African: free online webinars on money, investing and trading presented by various industry experts.
Thursday, March 24, 2011 ... more
 
An old interview with Steve Cohen
Steve Cohen summed up last year as “strange” and predicted this year would be “reasonable”. In the 19 years since he used $20m to start his own hedge fund, Cohan has grown SAC Capital Advisors into a $14bn behemoth. And while the interview which brought him to prominence in Stock Market Wizards is a little dated, it is still instructive.
Wednesday, March 23, 2011 ... more
 
 
What sets them apart
The odds are that few if any of the people around you are truly great at what they do – awesomely, amazingly, world-class excellent. Why? Why don’t they manage businesses like Jack Welch or Andy Grove? After all, most of them have been at it for a long time – twenty, thirty, forty years. Why isn’t that enough to make them great performers?
Friday, March 18, 2011 ... more
 
 
 
Free Market fraud
Let's begin with capitalism, a word that has gone largely out of fashion. The approved reference now is to the market system. This shift minimizes - indeed, deletes - the role of wealth in the economic and social system. And it sheds the adverse connotation going back to Marx. Instead of the owners of capital or their attendants in control, we have the admirably impersonal role of market forces.
Thursday, March 17, 2011 ... more
 
The single most important thing
William J O’Neil begins his book, 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success, by asking the question: What is the most important thing an investor should know?
Wednesday, March 16, 2011 ... more
 
 
Like buying groceries
Benjamin Graham is often referred to as the ‘father’ of value investing, an investment approach he began teaching at Columbia Business School in 1928.
Tuesday, March 15, 2011 ... more
 
 
 
Only what you do
Every person passing through this life will unknowingly leave something and take something away. Most of this “something” cannot be seen or heard or numbered or scientifically detected or counted. It’s what we leave in the minds of other people and what they leave in ours. Memory. The census doesn’t count it. Nothing counts without it.
Friday, March 11, 2011 ... more
 
As pure as the driven slush.
The financial crisis vindicated the hypothesis that hedge funds are the good guys in finance, says Sebastian Mallaby, author of More money than God, a book on the industry. “They came through the turmoil relatively unscathed, and never took a cent of taxpayers’ money.
Thursday, March 10, 2011 ... more
 
 
Make it big & tell everyone
Almost everyone is willing to commit to making more than he or she did in the previous year... It's not a matter of making positive affirmations; the key is promising to do something, and then on a daily basis doing what you need to do to realize it, says Ari Kiev.
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 ... more
 
What’s important is why. Tuesday, March 8, 2011
Banking theory Friday, March 4, 2011
Before Warren was Ernest Thursday, March 3, 2011
The impact of the credit cycles Wednesday, March 2, 2011
Discipline, not timing, Tuesday, March 1, 2011
Wrong, long-held beliefs Friday, February 25, 2011
Set up to fail Thursday, February 24, 2011
Game theory Wednesday, February 23, 2011
An odd duck's rules Tuesday, February 22, 2011
In no mood for coffee and doughnuts Friday, February 18, 2011
Why be contrarian? Thursday, February 17, 2011
When history's no help Wednesday, February 16, 2011
'74 Buffett Tuesday, February 15, 2011
An acquired skill Friday, February 11, 2011
Takes one to know one. Thursday, February 10, 2011
Lesson learned … again. Wednesday, February 9, 2011
Montier's Tao of Investing Tuesday, February 8, 2011
What devil? Friday, February 4, 2011
How big should it be? Thursday, February 3, 2011
What about inflation? Wednesday, February 2, 2011
Five ways of playing the game Tuesday, February 1, 2011
Rather than vested interest. Friday, January 28, 2011
What to do, who to listen to? Thursday, January 27, 2011
Advice on forecasts: Don’t! Wednesday, January 26, 2011
The value of our mistakes. Tuesday, January 25, 2011
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.