January - March 2009 articles archive home
Last year? Oh, a couple of thousand million … and you?
Although the hedge fund industry didn’t escape the carnage of the financial crisis some managers are doing just fine.
Tuesday, March 31, 2009 ... more
 
 
A genetic predisposition to prosperity?
Could it be that the values that enable development and prosperity have a genetic component?
Friday, March 27, 2009 ... more
 
What derivatives have in common with STDs.
Derivatives contracts often go unsettled for years, even decades, with counterparties building up huge claims against each other.
Thursday, March 26, 2009 ... more
 
 
Quantitatively easing into hyper-inflation and $2,000 gold?
“Wham! For a while, investors didn’t seem to know what had hit them. They were dazed…dumbfounded …
Tuesday, March 24, 2009 ... more
 
Don’t you wish you could be a cowboy instead?
Ever wish you could go back to live in simpler times? Being a cowboy, for instance, in the Wild West? Some folks will tell you that the U.S. ‘credit crisis’ ...
Friday, March 20, 2009 ... more
 
 
If you replace the word ‘Enron’ with ‘Market’
In truth, investing carries risk, and it is not the role of the federal government to bail out every investor who loses money. In a true free market, investors are responsible for their own decisions, good or bad.
Thursday, March 19, 2009 ... more
 
A couple of things about hedge funds Wednesday, March 18, 2009
Knowing what to look for Tuesday, March 17, 2009
Right to disagree Friday, March 13, 2009
Makes more sense if not entirely random Thursday, March 12, 2009
What will it take to deter investors? Wednesday, March 11, 2009
Why common-sense became unpopular Tuesday, March 10, 2009
Why it’s impossible not to feel deprived Friday, March 6, 2009
A few words on short selling Thursday, March 5, 2009
Extracts from the Chairman’s 2008 letter Wednesday, March 4, 2009
Best to grind out gains, one at a time Tuesday, March 3, 2009
For those with a mathematical bent Friday, February 27, 2009
The Seer-Sucker Theory Thursday, February 26, 2009
Evidence that the market is working Wednesday, February 25, 2009
If only they’d just taken back their umbrellas. Tuesday, February 24, 2009
A quiet force, as silent and powerful as gravity Friday, February 20, 2009
In case they weren’t sure how he felt Thursday, February 19, 2009
Can this long wave theorist tell us? Wednesday, February 18, 2009
Bioscience: the problem isn’t the Rand earnings Tuesday, February 17, 2009
It’s getting more difficult to do the right thing Friday, February 13, 2009
Budget related stuff for those who agree … Thursday, February 12, 2009
Trying to be a little too clever by far Wednesday, February 11, 2009
A cynic’s answers to the usual questions Tuesday, February 10, 2009
Predicting the future is difficult. Friday, February 6, 2009
Too easy, too useless a task. Thursday, February 5, 2009
How it all went wrong right Wednesday, February 4, 2009
If you’re thinking of an automated process Tuesday, February 3, 2009
When time won’t heal wounds anymore Friday, January 30, 2009
Bar stool economics Thursday, January 29, 2009
From the President of the Old Speculator’s club Wednesday, January 28, 2009
Surviving on half-truths Tuesday, January 27, 2009
It’s not going to change anything Friday, January 23, 2009
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.