July - September 2008 articles archive home
Why U.S. Banks are insolvent, or maybe not.
“Everyone knows that a policy of bailouts will increase their number.” William Poole, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Tuesday, September 30, 2008 ... more
 
 
Science, and the appetite for wonder
We are going to die, and that makes us the lucky ones. Most people are never going to die because they are never going to be born.
Friday, September 26, 2008 ... more
 
10 things to do in the market when you're dead
Seven years ago, Edmond Warner, former star strategist at Dresdner Kleinwort, offered some advice on what to do in a bear market.
Thursday, September 25, 2008 ... more
 
 
The problem with the ‘average’ man.
It is hard for the average man to oppose the general drift of public opinion. In the stock market this is perhaps harder than elsewhere.
Tuesday, September 23, 2008 ... more
 
Getting there by going some other way
As John Stuart Mill said: "Those only are happy who have their minds fixed on some object other than their own happiness...
Friday, September 19, 2008 ... more
 
 
Something to remember on your walks
The random walk theory isn’t all that easy to fully appreciate ... a few common mistakes with the usual reasons for committing them
Thursday, September 18, 2008 ... more
 
Will you earn market returns? Don't count on it! Wednesday, September 17, 2008
A problem of overconfidence Tuesday, September 16, 2008
The thing about a holistic approach Friday, September 12, 2008
The good thing about bubbles Thursday, September 11, 2008
In the end, who’s responsible? Wednesday, September 10, 2008
So as to get a second marshmallow Tuesday, September 9, 2008
Oh no, not another doomsday scenario Friday, September 5, 2008
Why there’s never anything to rely on Thursday, September 4, 2008
Why loonies under the bed are better Wednesday, September 3, 2008
What goes up doesn’t have to come down Tuesday, September 2, 2008
The problem: distinguishing between the two Friday, August 29, 2008
There’s usually two sides to a coin Thursday, August 28, 2008
There’s more to it than just the money Wednesday, August 27, 2008
Can anyone predict market downturns? Tuesday, August 26, 2008
Like the people in this room Friday, August 22, 2008
The Stock market, like the jungle Thursday, August 21, 2008
Share tipsters: Not all the same Wednesday, August 20, 2008
Smart rabbits have many holes Tuesday, August 19, 2008
A 1930’s perspective on ambition Friday, August 15, 2008
Extracts from a discussion on portfolio theory Thursday, August 14, 2008
Respect the markets, not the experts Wednesday, August 13, 2008
The auto pilot myth Tuesday, August 12, 2008
The parable of the madman Friday, August 8, 2008
Investment advice from a chess grandmaster Thursday, August 7, 2008
Tunnels in the mind Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Learning to ride the elephant Tuesday, August 5, 2008
Would be surprised if it was any better here Friday, August 1, 2008
That massive magnetic pull towards disaster Thursday, July 31, 2008
Don’t just do something-sit there Wednesday, July 30, 2008
From Kim Zussman Tuesday, July 29, 2008
In favour of greater personal responsibility. Friday, July 25, 2008
To put the last few months into perspective Thursday, July 24, 2008
Bracing for loss: An exception to the optimistic rule. Wednesday, July 23, 2008
In the bad times collect clues for the good times. Tuesday, July 22, 2008
Are you a financial whiz? Friday, July 18, 2008
Why buy-and-hold is a long term strategy. Thursday, July 17, 2008
Metaphors in free fall: the anti-bubble named Wednesday, July 16, 2008
Lessons from Sir John Templeton Tuesday, July 15, 2008
Chaordic: behaviour of self-governing organism Friday, July 11, 2008
Some advice from a risk manager Thursday, July 10, 2008
Market risk, as it relates to the corporate employee Wednesday, July 9, 2008
The market: something to be afraid of. Tuesday, July 8, 2008
Basically good or evil? Friday, July 4, 2008
Some advice from Peter Lynch Thursday, July 3, 2008
Is your personality getting in the way? Wednesday, July 2, 2008
How much can you really afford to lose? Tuesday, July 1, 2008
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.