October - December 2007 articles archive home
Dispelling illusions of the Stock Market
How can you dispel an illusion if you are looking in the wrong place and not seeing what is actually happening?

Friday, December 14, 2007 ... more
 
 
Another load of codswallop
Becoming wealthy by retirement age through life-long personal savings is often touted as the most sensible way of achieving wealth.
Thursday, December 13, 2007 ... more
 
 
I have to say it …
… the service level we’re getting in shops these days is abysmal.
Wednesday, December 12, 2007 ... more
 
Learn to lose, control risk and be honest
Trading is among the most challenging of any games that a person can learn says Janice Dorn, an American psychologist.
Wednesday, December 12, 2007 ... more
 
 
Good advise from James Sogi
Watch your money management. Don't over extend. Start small. Be brave with the smaller amounts.
Tuesday, December 11, 2007 ... more
 
Cupid’s impact on the pre-frontal cortex
A study at the Wellcome department of neuro-imaging at University College London provides a cold-eyed view of love.
Friday, December 7, 2007 ... more
 
 
(Previously) Unwritten laws of the Stock Market
If you know something can go wrong and you’re somehow able to prevent it from happening, something else will go wrong.
Thursday, December 6, 2007 ... more
 
Why it might not be a tragedy
If at times the idea of making it ‘big’ in the market seems unrealistic, a flight of the imagination akin to playing the lotto ...
Wednesday, December 5, 2007 ... more
 
 
Back to the average
In 1875 Francis Galton propounded the general principle of regression or reversion to the mean. As Peter Bernstein explains in his book ...
Tuesday, December 4, 2007 ... more
 
Why & how we cheat
Most of us know the difference between right and wrong, and consider cheating to be wrong. But we cheat anyway. Why?
Friday, November 30, 2007 ... more
 
 
The disappointment of the week?
The drop in the price of CET to below 230c a share yesterday must surely qualify as one of the week’s biggest disappointments.
Thursday, November 29, 2007 ... more
 
Far horizons
The Senior VP of Legg Mason Funds Management says that despite 30 years of experience he still has a hard time making decisions on a purely rational basis
Wednesday, November 28, 2007 ... more
 
 
Any way you look at it, it’s Flawed
The reason so many people have trouble investing in the stock market is that they are seriously mistaken about what determines a stock price.
Tuesday, November 27, 2007 ... more
 
Words of wisdom from Ayn Rand Friday, November 23, 2007
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. Thursday, November 22, 2007
Learning to cope with yourself Wednesday, November 21, 2007
Don’t forget the drift Tuesday, November 20, 2007
Why you spend as you do. Friday, November 16, 2007
Still subscribing, despite knowing better? Thursday, November 15, 2007
A little more about black swans Wednesday, November 14, 2007
Winning traits of Market Wizards Tuesday, November 13, 2007
In the future Friday, November 9, 2007
Personality mistakes Thursday, November 8, 2007
Welcome to the machine. Wednesday, November 7, 2007
Markets as complex systems Tuesday, November 6, 2007
Delusions of a healthy mind. Friday, November 2, 2007
Speculators disguised as investors Thursday, November 1, 2007
Avoiding the irrational Wednesday, October 31, 2007
The good guy school of investing Tuesday, October 30, 2007
The feel of it Friday, October 26, 2007
How to get lucky Thursday, October 25, 2007
Not all that useful Wednesday, October 24, 2007
How much risk? Tuesday, October 23, 2007
Going on gut-feel Friday, October 19, 2007
Benefits of being vice-friendly Thursday, October 18, 2007
Often-overlooked characteristics Wednesday, October 17, 2007
Not all that important Tuesday, October 16, 2007
Not all that important Friday, October 12, 2007
Something about Whitman Thursday, October 11, 2007
How, rather than what you read. Wednesday, October 10, 2007
It takes a Martian. Tuesday, October 9, 2007
New rules for buying stuff Friday, October 5, 2007
Take A Step Back Thursday, October 4, 2007
What’s there not to like? Wednesday, October 3, 2007
Lessons that cost $200,000 Tuesday, October 2, 2007
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.