January - March 2007 articles archive home
Doing outrageous things with money.
Sounds titillating, doesn't it? There's something exhilarating about flagrant disregard for the concerns which so engross most of our lives.
Friday, March 30, 2007 ... more
 
 
Reducing risk using options
People who think options are riskier investments than stocks often have a one-sided understanding of leverage as it applies to options.
Thursday, March 29, 2007 ... more
 
If only ...
You look back sometimes and say to yourself, “If only …” Grandiosity: Something that speculators have in spades. And makes them buy, sell, buy ...
Wednesday, March 28, 2007 ... more
 
 
What Trading Teaches About Life
“Trading distils the basic human challenge: the need to judge, plan, and seek values under conditions of risk and uncertainty."
Tuesday, March 27, 2007 ... more
 
Vocational guidance
“Some of the least successful traders were engineers, doctors, dentists, attorneys, economists, accountants and computer programmers.”
Monday, March 26, 2007 ... more
 
 
Advice that’s less than useful
There’s no shortage of poor advice floating about. Take, for instance, The 7 Rules of Wealth Building published on a website.
Friday, March 23, 2007 ... more
 
The trouble with consensus figures Thursday, March 22, 2007
Do high P/Es hurt? Tuesday, March 20, 2007
The wisdom of Peter Lynch Monday, March 19, 2007
The sweet smell of … revenge Friday, March 16, 2007
Why being successful doesn’t help Thursday, March 15, 2007
Provided you’re willing to take the risk Wednesday, March 14, 2007
When the bull farted in the China shop Tuesday, March 13, 2007
Why you need to question everything Monday, March 12, 2007
How the very wealthy spend their money. Friday, March 9, 2007
Does zigging and zagging work? Thursday, March 8, 2007
A lesson to worry about Wednesday, March 7, 2007
Gold falls, just when it shouldn’t Tuesday, March 6, 2007
A more scientific approach Monday, March 5, 2007
From owner’s to manager’s capitalism Friday, March 2, 2007
Have Markets Changed? Thursday, March 1, 2007
Are they really safer in the long run? Wednesday, February 28, 2007
Derivates as scapegoat Tuesday, February 27, 2007
Confirming what we already knew Monday, February 26, 2007
Coulda, shoulda Friday, February 23, 2007
Where illusions are bought and sold Thursday, February 22, 2007
That’s alright then Wednesday, February 21, 2007
Why they'll continue to go public Tuesday, February 20, 2007
A checklist for traders Monday, February 19, 2007
Share crazy Friday, February 16, 2007
keeping an eye on volatility Thursday, February 15, 2007
If only it was ‘by’ instead of ‘to’ Wednesday, February 14, 2007
So, you've heard a good story. Tuesday, February 13, 2007
Rather look for value Monday, February 12, 2007
The paradox of risk Friday, February 9, 2007
Ten years ago, like today Thursday, February 8, 2007
Market crashes, like earthquakes Wednesday, February 7, 2007
Dividends vs buy-backs - Pt 2 Tuesday, February 6, 2007
Dividends vs. buy-backs – part 1 Monday, February 5, 2007
Informing ourselves into ignorance Friday, February 2, 2007
Nothing to be afraid of Thursday, February 1, 2007
Why the hackneyed explanation? Wednesday, January 31, 2007
Qualities of a good dog Tuesday, January 30, 2007
Why market looks good but you don’t Monday, January 29, 2007
According to Charlie Friday, January 26, 2007
The problem with academics Thursday, January 25, 2007
Getting More For Less Wednesday, January 24, 2007
A lesson on ‘being new’ Tuesday, January 23, 2007
Creating money machines Monday, January 22, 2007
Does it matter what you predict? Thursday, January 18, 2007
The tyranny of compounding costs Wednesday, January 17, 2007
3 myths that could hold you back Tuesday, January 16, 2007
For a savvier 2007 Monday, January 15, 2007
Special agent, indeed Friday, January 12, 2007
Can be great investments too. Thursday, January 11, 2007
Dumb money Wednesday, January 10, 2007
A few what-ifs for 2007 Tuesday, January 9, 2007
All in favour of ‘stops’, say yah Monday, January 8, 2007
To find more happiness Friday, January 5, 2007
Easy? Oh sure. Thursday, January 4, 2007
Getting it wrong Wednesday, January 3, 2007
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.