July - September 2006 articles archive home
 
 
Ask the bagel man.
In their book, Freakonomics, Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner ask whether mankind is innately and universally corrupt. And if so, how corrupt?”
Friday, September 29, 2006 ... more
 
 
 
On being wrong
My Marine training helps in investing. They teach you never to freeze when you are under attack. - Marty Schwartz
Thursday, September 28, 2006 ... more
 
Only tomorrow’s paper will do
As the Chinese master Lao Tzu once said: "Those who know do not speak, those who speak do not know." It was good investment advice.
Wednesday, September 27, 2006 ... more
 
 
Less than useful
Information can be worthless for a number of reasons: it may be outdated, it may be false or it may be irrelevant ...
Tuesday, September 26, 2006 ... more
 
How annoying?
“Oh really, my uncle’s a dentist and he’s just bought a whole lot of gold shares. You should do the same.”
Friday, September 22, 2006 ... more
 
 
Why the hesitation?
When Ventel issued a trading update last week there were bids for the share at 21c and offers at 40c. The last trade was at 40c.
Thursday, September 21, 2006 ... more
 
Worry twice as much
The JSE confirmed the mistake; Labat’s audit report apparently carried an emphasis of matter but did not contain an audit qualification.
Wednesday, September 20, 2006 ... more
 
 
Could they destroy the world?
If hedge funds were a country, says the New Statesman, “it would be the eighth biggest on the planet. The magazine then goes on to explain why we should be afraid of them.
Tuesday, September 19, 2006 ... more
 
Back to basics Monday, September 18, 2006
To be who you are Friday, September 15, 2006
A cowardly approach? Thursday, September 14, 2006
Why not? Wednesday, September 13, 2006
Comments that are less than useful Tuesday, September 12, 2006
Lessons from the last 20 years Monday, September 11, 2006
Blunders that cost a fortune Friday, September 8, 2006
Gimme a penny stock anytime Thursday, September 7, 2006
Sorry, would have been nice Wednesday, September 6, 2006
Charlie, on life & money Tuesday, September 5, 2006
7 ways to spot a stock market loser Monday, September 4, 2006
A different perspective Friday, September 1, 2006
Coggan’s Long View Thursday, August 31, 2006
So much for cash Wednesday, August 30, 2006
D-I-V strategies Tuesday, August 29, 2006
There’s no way of knowing Monday, August 28, 2006
Is everybody happy … anybody? Friday, August 25, 2006
To avoid traps Thursday, August 24, 2006
So, who’s the victim here? Wednesday, August 23, 2006
Patterns everywhere Tuesday, August 22, 2006
Need to be fair Monday, August 21, 2006
Can’t fake it Friday, August 18, 2006
A right Charlie Thursday, August 17, 2006
Don’t pay too much Wednesday, August 16, 2006
Understand what you believe Tuesday, August 15, 2006
Despite knowing better Monday, August 14, 2006
Agoraphobia Friday, August 11, 2006
Start Your Own Hedge Fund Thursday, August 10, 2006
Boils down to the same thing Wednesday, August 9, 2006
Lucky Orang-utans Tuesday, August 8, 2006
Common money mistakes Monday, August 7, 2006
Getting to the nub Friday, August 4, 2006
Could it be the next Buffett? Thursday, August 3, 2006
You’re most at risk ... Wednesday, August 2, 2006
Anything’s better than nothing. Tuesday, August 1, 2006
Finding multibaggers Monday, July 31, 2006
Suddenly rich? Bummer. Friday, July 28, 2006
On the downside Thursday, July 27, 2006
Who’d have thought Wednesday, July 26, 2006
Nice to know Tuesday, July 25, 2006
Love the bear Monday, July 24, 2006
Catching the next wave Friday, July 21, 2006
Instead of lotto Thursday, July 20, 2006
Too much to hope for? Wednesday, July 19, 2006
Excuse me, but … Tuesday, July 18, 2006
Not all that rational Monday, July 17, 2006
Not just rich Friday, July 14, 2006
Seldom good news Thursday, July 13, 2006
What you don’t know Wednesday, July 12, 2006
Why’s it so hard? Tuesday, July 11, 2006
Hard to figure Monday, July 10, 2006
If I’m right … Friday, July 7, 2006
Since you asked Thursday, July 6, 2006
So, why do it? Wednesday, July 5, 2006
How things change Tuesday, July 4, 2006
Similar games Monday, July 3, 2006
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.