July - September 2005 articles archive home
Origin of the dollar
The word dollar is much older than the American unit of currency. It is an Anglicised form of "thaler", the name given to coins first minted in 1519 at a silver mine near the town of Joachimstal, in Bohemia
Friday, September 30, 2005 ... more
 
 
Heading for the exits
In his book, Financial Reckoning Day, William Bonner explains the problem known in economics as the Fallacy of Composition. “In short, what may work for a single person may not work for a group ..."
Thursday, September 29, 2005 ... more
 
It takes all sorts
We’re often told that knowing oneself is an essential ingredient for success on the stock market. But, what is meant by that? Two interviews in Jack Schwager’s book, Stock Market Wizards, illustrate the point.
Wednesday, September 28, 2005 ... more
 
 
Five more must-haves
If you’ve read the classics - Ben Graham's Intelligent Investor, Peter Lynch's One Up on Wall Street or Philip Fisher’s Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits — you’ll know to buy under book value, what you know, and never sell.
Tuesday, September 27, 2005 ... more
 
Beware of earnings.
Some investors have a tendency to focus on the income statement and ignore the balance sheet and cash flow statement. They fixate on earnings while ignoring the quality of those earnings ...
Monday, September 26, 2005 ... more
 
 
Open mindedness
Open-mindedness is the willingness to search actively for evidence against one’s favoured beliefs, plans, or goals and to weigh such evidence fairly when it is available.
Friday, September 23, 2005 ... more
 
Soros 101 Thursday, September 22, 2005
Progress Wednesday, September 21, 2005
Better traders Tuesday, September 20, 2005
Not as it seems Monday, September 19, 2005
Simple questions Friday, September 16, 2005
Giving advise is easy Thursday, September 15, 2005
Treacherous rally Wednesday, September 14, 2005
Best of times? Tuesday, September 13, 2005
Don’t buy down Monday, September 12, 2005
Succinct Friday, September 9, 2005
Disappointing Thursday, September 8, 2005
Useful for some Wednesday, September 7, 2005
Better, but … Tuesday, September 6, 2005
Why dividends matter. Monday, September 5, 2005
An older kid’s advise Friday, September 2, 2005
Coal? Thursday, September 1, 2005
Simple enough Wednesday, August 31, 2005
Not all that efficient Tuesday, August 30, 2005
If only ... Monday, August 29, 2005
Money’s worth Friday, August 26, 2005
As if it never happened Thursday, August 25, 2005
Enlightenment Wednesday, August 24, 2005
Paying more Tuesday, August 23, 2005
How much excitement? Monday, August 22, 2005
The need for innovation Friday, August 19, 2005
Who? Thursday, August 18, 2005
Go figure Wednesday, August 17, 2005
What’s that again? Tuesday, August 16, 2005
On the couch Monday, August 15, 2005
Real Monsters Friday, August 12, 2005
I try to be optimistic, but … Thursday, August 11, 2005
Yes, change is constant Wednesday, August 10, 2005
David versus Goliath Monday, August 8, 2005
A paradox? Friday, August 5, 2005
A reminder Thursday, August 4, 2005
A bad idea Wednesday, August 3, 2005
All that shimmers … Tuesday, August 2, 2005
Mistakes to avoid Monday, August 1, 2005
Worth knowing Friday, July 29, 2005
What it might mean Thursday, July 28, 2005
Who’s this market guy? Wednesday, July 27, 2005
One sided Tuesday, July 26, 2005
From the ashes Monday, July 25, 2005
Is it evil? Friday, July 22, 2005
A Ponzi scheme? Thursday, July 21, 2005
Boomer threat Wednesday, July 20, 2005
A reminder Tuesday, July 19, 2005
What it takes Monday, July 18, 2005
What, no progress? Friday, July 15, 2005
Luck of the draw Thursday, July 14, 2005
Swarming to market Wednesday, July 13, 2005
A Matter of trust Tuesday, July 12, 2005
Why not you? Monday, July 11, 2005
The value of Zero Friday, July 8, 2005
Too expensive @ 1c Thursday, July 7, 2005
Despite the loss Wednesday, July 6, 2005
If you’re smart enough Tuesday, July 5, 2005
Wilson’s advise Monday, July 4, 2005
Trouble with self-esteem Friday, July 1, 2005
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.