April - June 2005 articles archive home
Playing catch-up?
Management says it expects a similar performance in the next six months. And yet, the share price has dropped to 1000c. Which puts AME on an headline p:e of below 7 and at just over twice net asset value.
Thursday, June 30, 2005 ... more
 
 
Who knows?
As best as I can make out, Afgem intends to acquire three mining companies from Canadian listed Rex Corporation for approximately R60m ... What does it all mean for future earnings? Who knows?
Wednesday, June 29, 2005 ... more
 
By way of an explanation
Given the game, when a penny stock suddenly shows a profit, is already generating more cash than it needs but is still going to grow in excess of 20% a year, it’s disconcerting.
Tuesday, June 28, 2005 ... more
 
 
Still to come
“In both cases there ought to have been a correction worthy of the preceding boom. In Japan, eventually, there was. In the United States, we presume, there still will be.”

Monday, June 27, 2005 ... more
 
Got that wrong
Keynes thought that, “The love of money as a possession – as distinguished from love of money as a means to the enjoyments and realities of life – will be recognised for what it is ...
Friday, June 24, 2005 ... more
 
 
Too much good news?
But the really big surprise is a proposed dividend pay-out of 2c a share, “as a result of the excess cash generated by operations.” Which would be great news if it wasn’t so disconcerting.

Thursday, June 23, 2005 ... more
 
An insider’s perspective
In July 18 1998, American entrepreneur Mark Cuban and his partner, Todd Wagner, took their company, Broadcast.com, public with Morgan Stanley.
Wednesday, June 22, 2005 ... more
 
 
Still not right
Kingco’s full-year performance to 28 February 2005 was fairly dismal: the company suffered a headline loss of R168,000 ... Beige is also struggling to return to profitability ...
Tuesday, June 21, 2005 ... more
 
O’Neil on stop-losses
A good money manager never assumes that a stock is at a bottom, and will typically build a position as the stock falls down in price, but it probably isn’t a smart strategy for most amateur investors ...
Monday, June 20, 2005 ... more
 
 
More than just ‘cheese.’
while we might think that the difference between a genuine and a false smile is in the eyes, Paul Ekman, at the University of California, says the real difference is in the muscle around the eye, which pulls the cheek up.
Friday, June 17, 2005 ... more
 
Should have sold, maybe?
The real blow would have come from the auditors who warned there was "significant doubt about the company’s ability to continue as a going concern.” Management, disagrees ....
Wednesday, June 15, 2005 ... more
 
 
Oh boy!
At the ed of last month All Joy released its results for the year and announced a major acquisition ... A few Friday’s ago two headlines appeared in this newspaper ...
Tuesday, June 14, 2005 ... more
 
In the beginning Monday, June 13, 2005
Who knows? Friday, June 10, 2005
Wasn’t important Thursday, June 9, 2005
For the cynics Wednesday, June 8, 2005
In case you missed it Tuesday, June 7, 2005
The next big thing Monday, June 6, 2005
For the libertarians Friday, June 3, 2005
Woolly-thinker's guide Thursday, June 2, 2005
Too much ‘cool’? Wednesday, June 1, 2005
Same again? Tuesday, May 31, 2005
What alternative? Monday, May 30, 2005
Why you might never know the real cause Saturday, May 28, 2005
Here be Monsters. Friday, May 27, 2005
Surprise, surprise Thursday, May 26, 2005
Geekonomics Thursday, May 26, 2005
Of Value Wednesday, May 25, 2005
Learn to take punches Tuesday, May 24, 2005
The more it changes Monday, May 23, 2005
A chance to get rich Friday, May 20, 2005
That’s strange Thursday, May 19, 2005
Repeat performance Wednesday, May 18, 2005
In the big league Tuesday, May 17, 2005
Why so willing? Monday, May 16, 2005
Striving for unhappiness Friday, May 13, 2005
For the punters Thursday, May 12, 2005
Straight talk Wednesday, May 11, 2005
In Limbo Tuesday, May 10, 2005
Sage uttering Monday, May 9, 2005
Me too, please Friday, May 6, 2005
Good Advise Thursday, May 5, 2005
At a glance Wednesday, May 4, 2005
Bad Moon Rising Tuesday, May 3, 2005
Wise folks Friday, April 29, 2005
A different law for them Thursday, April 28, 2005
Taking the short view Tuesday, April 26, 2005
Better, but more expensive Monday, April 25, 2005
Another ending Friday, April 22, 2005
Getting it right Thursday, April 21, 2005
That’s enough already Wednesday, April 20, 2005
Only what we want to see Tuesday, April 19, 2005
Bubble, short and double Monday, April 18, 2005
Porkers? Friday, April 15, 2005
Less than expected Thursday, April 14, 2005
In Trouble Wednesday, April 13, 2005
Nothing obvious Tuesday, April 12, 2005
A special thing Monday, April 11, 2005
Never jam today Friday, April 8, 2005
What’s the point? Thursday, April 7, 2005
Which is it? Wednesday, April 6, 2005
Gimme a break Tuesday, April 5, 2005
Playing the dogs Monday, April 4, 2005
Worst April fool’s jokes Friday, April 1, 2005
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.