January - March 2005 articles archive home
In the ‘quiet’ period
Amongst the companies that reported their results in those quiet few days ... Primeserv reported an operating loss of R2.1m ... WB Holdings reported an operating loss of R18.5m ... Sallies reported an operating loss of R3.0m
Thursday, March 31, 2005 ... more
 
 
Dubious
There are several aspects of the latest AST results that are worrying. But the most disconcerting relates to the honesty of the figures. One of the fundamentals of financial reporting ...
Wednesday, March 30, 2005 ... more
 
 
 
Careful what you believe
Facts and opinions rule the markets but produce different effects. A fact affects everyone in the same way, regardless of what they believe. Facts are things that are.
Tuesday, March 29, 2005 ... more
 
 
 
Betting on God
Pascal, the 17th Century French philosopher, scientist, mathematician and probability theorist, argued that if we don't know whether God exists we should play it safe rather than risk being sorry.
Thursday, March 24, 2005 ... more
 
Better, but no longer cheap
Comparing Advtech’s results for the year to 31 December 2004 with the previous year: Turnover increased 17% to R570m; Operating income increased 27% to R56.2m; and headline earnings increased by 34% to R42.8m.
Wednesday, March 23, 2005 ... more
 
 
What’s it worth?
Richard Thaler, the academic in the vanguard of behavioural finance, wrote his doctoral thesis in the early ‘70s, on the value of human life.
Tuesday, March 22, 2005 ... more
 
Truthful answers
Share prices keep going up as long as you’re thinking of buying; When you do, they start going down. Once you’ve sold, they go up again.
Friday, March 18, 2005 ... more
 
 
Makes no difference
The market has ignored both the poor results and the promise of better things to come ... Peter Bernstein, at age 85, was asked in a recent interview on CNN Money why dividends are important ...
Thursday, March 17, 2005 ... more
 
Why that price? Wednesday, March 16, 2005
Following on Tuesday, March 15, 2005
The Nifty-Fifty Monday, March 14, 2005
The next big thing Friday, March 11, 2005
A missed opportunity? Thursday, March 10, 2005
More from Buffett Wednesday, March 9, 2005
Q3 & beyond Tuesday, March 8, 2005
Yesterday don’t matter Monday, March 7, 2005
Whining ways Friday, March 4, 2005
So-so Thursday, March 3, 2005
Same old Wednesday, March 2, 2005
How it changes Tuesday, March 1, 2005
Yes, but … Monday, February 28, 2005
Time-traveler busted Friday, February 25, 2005
Risk – the chances of losing Thursday, February 24, 2005
First, the good news Wednesday, February 23, 2005
Which one is it? Tuesday, February 22, 2005
Red hot stuff Monday, February 21, 2005
Turned around. Friday, February 18, 2005
Deceit – n. the act of concealing the truth Wednesday, February 16, 2005
Good news? Tuesday, February 15, 2005
Cart before the horse Monday, February 14, 2005
Contrary Dad Friday, February 11, 2005
How much good news? Thursday, February 10, 2005
By a whisker Wednesday, February 9, 2005
John Sadlier Tuesday, February 8, 2005
Not the gigis Monday, February 7, 2005
Is there life on other planets? Friday, February 4, 2005
Trouble with stats Thursday, February 3, 2005
The Anchor effect Wednesday, February 2, 2005
Ground floor Tuesday, February 1, 2005
Nice lawn Monday, January 31, 2005
Myopic and weak-willed Friday, January 28, 2005
A good story Wednesday, January 26, 2005
What information overload? Tuesday, January 25, 2005
Trouble with chartists Monday, January 24, 2005
The Risks Ahead Friday, January 21, 2005
A perfect storm? Thursday, January 20, 2005
Representative bias Wednesday, January 19, 2005
Penny-wise Tuesday, January 18, 2005
A swan, not a monkey Monday, January 17, 2005
The biggest bubble of all? Friday, January 14, 2005
How dumb? Thursday, January 13, 2005
For the greater good? Wednesday, January 12, 2005
Getting smacked Tuesday, January 11, 2005
Waiting for a syzygy Monday, January 10, 2005
Scientific papers. Friday, January 7, 2005
Worth a punt? Thursday, January 6, 2005
Hard to know Wednesday, January 5, 2005
Be smart - limit your losses Tuesday, January 4, 2005
At least it’s not 46 BC Monday, January 3, 2005
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.