October - December 2003 articles archive home
Somehow we survived!
Found on the internet, from an anonymous source:

“For those who were children in the 50s or 60s, looking back, it’s hard to believe that we have lived as long as we have ...

Wednesday, December 31, 2003 ... more
 
 
The return of heroic failures
Formed in 1977, with Stephen Pile as president, the Not terribly Good Club of Great Britain was a gathering of people who prided themselves on their incompetence.
Tuesday, December 30, 2003 ... more
 
A smart young man
A young man who is pleading for bankruptcy three months after having inherited R1m appears in front of a magistrate. The magistrate wants to know how he spent the money.
Monday, December 29, 2003 ... more
 
 
The fifth great wave
William H Janeway, writing in the Spectator magazine, argues that the dotcom madness of the late ’90s has more than likely laid the foundation for prosperity as happened when the railways and canals were the superhighways.
Wednesday, December 24, 2003 ... more
 
Where’s the Incentive to recapitalise?
There is good news and bad news in every set of figures. Take for example Incentive’s results for the six months to August.
Tuesday, December 23, 2003 ... more
 
 
Kingco’s results not as good as they look
At first glance, Kingco’s results for the first half to August are the best they have been for a long time.
Monday, December 22, 2003 ... more
 
So why bother with them?
It is hard to imagine why either Valcar or Valauto is listed on the JSE Securities Exchange SA, never mind that they are both listed. Valcar last traded on November 22 2002 at 40c.
Friday, December 19, 2003 ... more
 
 
Stratcorp still looks like a story stock
On the face of it Stratcorp had a very good six months to August 31 2003.
Thursday, December 18, 2003 ... more
 
At last, some good news
Whichever way you look at them, the latest Winhold results look pretty good.
Wednesday, December 17, 2003 ... more
 
 
Warren Buffet explains trade deficits
In an article published in the November 17 2003 issue of Fortune magazine, Warren Buffet explains the consequences of trade deficits by using the example of two islands, Squanderville and Thriftville.


Monday, December 15, 2003 ... more
 
SA Chrome’s figures tell their own story
SA chrome has lots of stories. Some are good news, such as the acquisition of additional chromite reserves and the upgrade of the ferro- chrome facility.
Friday, December 12, 2003 ... more
 
 
Stella’s good, bad and disturbing news
There was some good news in the results released by Stella Vista for the year to August 31: interest-bearing borrowing was reduced from R9,2m to R2,1m.
Thursday, December 11, 2003 ... more
 
What else changed at Edutech? Wednesday, December 10, 2003
Proper is in a proper mess Tuesday, December 9, 2003
Comparing Quyn figures is no trifle Monday, December 8, 2003
What’s really going on at Maxtec? Friday, December 5, 2003
The myth of the expert Thursday, December 4, 2003
Why bother with them? Wednesday, December 3, 2003
Is Primeserv in denial? Tuesday, December 2, 2003
Paracon continues downward earnings trend Monday, December 1, 2003
Not bad, if it doesn’t change. Friday, November 28, 2003
Hope, the most subtle mind trap Thursday, November 27, 2003
Waiting for good news from Kairos Wednesday, November 26, 2003
‘Course not dear, it’s just a Bear phase. Tuesday, November 25, 2003
Don’t do those drugs I give you, Bro. Monday, November 24, 2003
Charlie Munger on Pavlov Friday, November 21, 2003
Tickeritis Thursday, November 20, 2003
Waiting for news from Kairos Wednesday, November 19, 2003
Sethold suffers a reversal Tuesday, November 18, 2003
Becker says go ahead and buy. Monday, November 17, 2003
So unpredictable, don't risk it Friday, November 14, 2003
‘Marketitis’ Thursday, November 13, 2003
Don’t waste our time. Wednesday, November 12, 2003
Moneyweb isn’t cheap Tuesday, November 11, 2003
The usual bad news Monday, November 10, 2003
Rules from Frank J. Williams Friday, November 7, 2003
Terexko will object. Thursday, November 6, 2003
Don’t be afraid of a bear Wednesday, November 5, 2003
Why miss the boat twice? Tuesday, November 4, 2003
A dead swallow does not a winter ... Monday, November 3, 2003
You have to feel srory for him Friday, October 31, 2003
It’s what they don’t say Thursday, October 30, 2003
The future’s already here Wednesday, October 29, 2003
What’s going on at Zenith? Tuesday, October 28, 2003
Japan: A brief explanation. Monday, October 27, 2003
Are the Beige results that solid? Friday, October 24, 2003
Is Zeltis really improving? Thursday, October 23, 2003
How was it wrecked so quickly? Wednesday, October 22, 2003
Who would care enough? Tuesday, October 21, 2003
Hi Grandpa, can you lend me some money? Monday, October 20, 2003
The order book looks good, but … Friday, October 17, 2003
Jigsaw’s commitment beats the bad news. Thursday, October 16, 2003
Can you make any Sens of this? Wednesday, October 15, 2003
Will Ubuhlanti buy into Johndan? Tuesday, October 14, 2003
Anyone not see those pigs? Monday, October 13, 2003
Chris’s advise to his father Friday, October 10, 2003
The Passion for Prophecy Thursday, October 9, 2003
A mismatch not made in heaven Wednesday, October 8, 2003
The wise Charlie Munger. Tuesday, October 7, 2003
Waiting for smart heuristics? Monday, October 6, 2003
Fictitious comfort Friday, October 3, 2003
Can a bubble teach anything? Thursday, October 2, 2003
The secret of their success Wednesday, October 1, 2003
disclaimer
Michel Pireu & Associates cc, the owners of this website, are active stockmarket traders. The company disclaims all liability for any loss, damage, injury or expense however caused, arising from the use of, or reliance upon, in any manner, the information provided through this service and does not warrant the truth, accuracy or completeness of the information provided. The company's permission is required to reproduce the contents in any form including, capture into a database, website, intranet or extranet.